

## LIBRARY BOARD

Dr. Lauren Anderson President

> Shana Schneider Vice President

> > Lee Cruz

Dr. Delores Garcia-Blocker

Andrew Giering

Susan Lamar Treasurer

Hon. Justin Elicker Ex-Officio Member

John Jessen City Librarian & Director

Claudia Merson

Hon. Jeanette Morrison Aldermanic Representative

Irene Logan

April 27, 2022

Mayor Justin Elicker City of New Haven 165 Church Street

Via electronic delivery

Dear Mayor Elicker:

I write to convey the unanimous nomination by the Board of Directors of the New Haven Free Public Library of Jeanette Sykes to fill the Board's open position.

The Board is grateful for the exemplary service and collaboration of Lola Garcia-Blocker, who has served three consecutive terms and therefore must rotate off. She has agreed kindly to serve until the appointment of her replacement is official. That said, the Board is eager to have a full complement of appointed members, and we hope you will agree that Jeanette is an ideal candidate to round out our membership.

A Newhallville native, dedicated educator, and engaged community leader, Jeanette will bring important perspectives to the Board, helping ensure that we represent well the range of constituencies the NHFPL serves. The Board considered a number of potential candidates for this vacancy; among them Jeanette stood out as someone with record of community engagement in and beyond Newhallville and with a strong, inclusive vision for what a 21<sup>st</sup> library system should be.

Jeanette has completed the necessary application paperwork for the city, and her resume is attached. The NHFPL Board of Directors will be inviting her to join us for meetings starting this month, so that she can begin acclimating while the formal appointment process unfolds.

Should you have any questions for us, please feel free to get in touch, of course.

Thank you so much for your attention to this recommendation and for your strong support for the New Haven Free Public Library.

Sincerely,

Lauren Marderoo\_

Lauren Anderson President, Library Board of Directors